Akhilesh-Mayawati Announce SP-BSP Coalition; To Field 38 Candidates Each


Finally, after years of differences, Akhilesh Yadav of Samajwadi Party and Mayawati of Bahujan Samaj Party announce their joint decision of their respective parties’ coalition on Saturday in view of the 2019 General Elections.

The two party leaders made a formal announcement in Lucknow today. In an equitable seat sharing arrangement, both parties would field 38 candidates each out of 80 Lok Sabha seats that Uttar Pradesh holds.

Today at the press conference, Mayawati said, “This press conference will give sleepless nights to the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP Chief Amit Shah.”

While, the SP leader said, “Our coming together has not only created fear in the BJP but also in the Congress. We will leave two seats (Rae Bareli and Amethi) for the Congress but won’t say anything more on Congress – if it will be on board or not.”

While Congress senior leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi spoke on his party’s behalf, “Nobody should underestimate the Congress with its reach, presence and support base in UP. Congress is an established party in the state.”

In 2014, Lok Sabha elections, BJP had won 71 out of 80 seats in UP.



3 × five =