Bravo, Sammy, Russell Omitted from WICB Contract List

Darren Sammy

West Indies cricket’s black days continue to roll on as star players such as Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy and Andre Russell have been excluded from the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB)’s contract list for 2015-16 period.

Veteran left-handed batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul and slow left-arm bowler Sulieman Benn are also omitted from the new contract list.

Demolishing left-hand batsman Chris Gayle has not featured in the list following his previous rejections as he had turned down national contracts several times before.

Darren Sammy

Suspended Caribbean spinner Sunil Narine has also been omitted from the list as following his ban for illegal bowling action.

The contracts was issued for the period from October 1, 2015, to September 30, 2016, include several debutants in Tests over the past year and a half, including Jermaine Blackwood, Leon Johnson, Shane Dowrich, Shai Hope and Rajendra Chandrika.

Leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo was also added, as well as fast bowlers Shannon Gabriel and Sheldon Cottrell.