Centre Announces 20 Rupee Coin to Come Soon; 1, 2, 5 and 10 Rupee New Coins Also


The government announced on Thursday, a dodecagon (12-sided polygon) shaped 20-rupee coin will come for first time in the country.

As per the finance ministry notification, the diameter (outside) of the coin will be 27 millimetres and it will be 8.54 grams in weight.

The outer ring composition of the 12-sided coin will be 65 percent copper, 15 percent zinc and 20 percent nickel. While the inner ring or the centre piece will have the composition – 75 percent copper, 20 percent zinc and 5 percent nickel.

The new coin will flash the ‘Lion Capitol symbol of Ashok pillar’ with ‘Satyamev Jayate’ imprinted below it. Words “Bharat” and “INDIA” will be on the left and right side of the Lion capitol symbol.

Whereas the other side, will have denomination ‘20’ written with the rupee symbol above it. The two sides of the denomination will be fringed with the grain symbol depicting the agricultural backbone of the country.

The reverse side will also bear twenty rupees written in Hindi and English.

The year of stamping of the coin will be shown on the centre of the left periphery of the coin.

PM Narendra Modi on Thursday inaugurated the new series of visual friendly “Re.1, Rs.2, Rs.5, Rs.10 and Rs.20”.

The released notification revealed the new 10 rupee coin will weigh 7.74 gram with an outside diameter of 27 mm and the 5 rupee coin will be of diameter 25 mm and weight 6.74 grams.

The makeover one rupee and two rupee coin will weigh 3.09 grams and 4.07 grams with diameters 20 mm and 23 mm.

All the newly reshaped coins will be circular except the new 20 rupee coin.



three × one =