Election Clarion for 5 States : Vote Starts From Apr 4, Counting on May 19


New Delhi : The Election Commission on Friday declared the calendar for assembly polls in West Bengal, Kerala, Assam, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

“Election will be held in 824 assembly costituencies in the 5 states. The counting day for all 5 states is May 19,” commission chief Nasim Zaidi said in a press conference.

He was accompanied by election commissioners AK Joti and Om Prakash Rawat.

The terms of these five assemblies will end in April and May.

The Model Code of Conduct will be enforced with immediate effect and the governments of the poll-bound states as well as the Centre would not be able to announce any new schemes or programmes that may influence the voters.