Actor Jaya Prada Joins Hands with BJP


Actor-turned-politician Jaya Prada made her next political venture comeback with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday and is speculated to contest from Rampur in Uttar Pradesh.

The newly BJP inducted member will be up against Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Azam Khan in Rampur.

Earlier in 2004 and 2009 elections, Jaya Prada had contested and won from Rampur on SP ticket. She and Azam Khan have been bitter rivals.

After her induction in BJP, Jaya Prada said, “I am a part of national party and I am in a party, where the leader leads on issues of national security… I am honoured to work under PM Modi’s leadership.”

In 1994, the B-town actor commenced her political career with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP). She was a Rajya Sabha member from the AP state.

Later she had fallout with TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu and she moved to Samajwadi Party.

In 2010, she was ousted from SP owing to her differences with party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav for supporting SP leader Amar Singh.

In 2012, Amar Singh along with Jaya Prada launched the regional party, Rashtriya Lok Manch but in 2012 UP assembly elections accounted to a zero sum.

In 2014, Jaya Prada conjoined with Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal and contested from Bijnor in 2014 elections but lost to BJP candidate Kunwar Bhartendra.




four − 3 =