Odisha Government appoints 151 dental surgeons


The Odisha government appointed 151 dental surgeons on Monday. Handing over appointment letters to the new appointees during a workshop at Jaydev Bhavan, CM Naveen Patnaik said the appointments would help improve oral healthcare in remote parts of the state.
As many as 110 dental surgeons were posted at different health institutions in the KBK and tribal sub plan districts. A government statement said earlier there were only 33 sanctioned posts of dental surgeons in the state, who were mostly rendering services at the district headquarters.

The BJD government created 200 more posts around a year ago. Of the total vacancies of 211 posts, the state appointed 151 dental surgeons through the Odisha Public Service Commission (OPSC). They were posted at the community health centre, sub-divisional hospitals besides the district headquarters hospitals.

“These doctors will play a key role in educating people on oral hygiene, screening for early detection and treatment of oral diseases including oral cancer,” said Health minister Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak during the workshop.