India Capitulates to Australia in Sydney One Day


Team India succumbed to a very disciplined Australian bowling attack in the first one day international  between India and Australia in the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Saturday. Australia beat India by 34 runs and go 1-0 up in the 3 match ODI series.

India’s opener Rohit Sharma, the only centurion waged a lone fight but the asking rate got the better of him.

Aaron Finch, the Australian captain won the toss in the morning at the SCG and elected to bat first. Pacer Bhubaneswar Kumar and chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav made short work of the Australian openers. Australia then made notable partnerships with Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh and Peter Handscomb all getting fifty plus scores each. Australia ended their 50 overs with 288 for 5 with Marcus Stoinis on 47 unbeaten.

Team India rather started their innings on a much disappointing note. Rookie pacer Jhye Richardson, the pick of the bowlers along with Jason Behrendorff tore apart the Indian batting line up. Dhawan, Kohli and Rayudu collectively scored 3 runs. At that stage, Team India were tottering at 4 runs for 3 wickets in 4 overs.

Then, the former Indian Captain MS Dhoni stitched a much needed partnership with lone SCG centurion Rohit Sharma. Dhoni became the fifth Indian ODI player to complete 10000 runs and scored his 68th ODI fifty. But in the process, the former captain gobbled up too many balls. He scored 51 of 96 balls.

Dhoni’s departure was a tight decision as reviews confirmed ball pitching outside leg stump and India was out of reviews. Sharma, though, continued in his inimitable style putting pressure back on the Australians. But the steep required rate and deserting partners at the other end ended his magnificient innings.

Rohit Sharma on his way to a majestic century broke many records on his 133-run innings in 129 balls and received a standing ovation at the SCG. He became the top scorer by an Indian batsman at the SCG. Also, he became the joint century scorer (5) in terms of numbers by any visiting batsman in Australia alongside former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara.

Now, Rohit Sharma (7) is next to Indian Great Sachin Tendulkar (9) centuries in India vs Australia ODI list.

With India’s hopes all lost, Bhuvaneswar Kumar scampered boundaries only to be remained unbeaten on 29 at the end. Team India scored 254 at the loss of 9 wickets in reply to Australia’s 288 for 5.

Team Australia achieved a rare feat at the SCG winning their 1000th ODI. Jhye Richardson for his 4 wickets was adjudged Man of the Match.



nineteen − 18 =