BBMP election: BJP is still leading in the elections

BBMP election-BJP is still leading in the electionsAccording to trends available right now, the BJP is leading in 84 wards, closely followed by the Congress in 64 wards, the JD(S) in 12 wards and independents in 7 wards. These results are based on 167 out of 198 trends.

The BJP is still leading in the elections to the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) – the civic body in Bengaluru, the country’s IT capital.

If these trends are to continue, then the BJP will effectively come back to power in the city corporation in what will be a huge setback to the Congress and Chief Minister Siddaramaiah. The elections were conducted on August 22 after a prolonged court battle, as the Siddaramaiah led government sought to defer it on grounds of trifurcating the civic body.

The opposition BJP and JD(S) had brought the government in the line of fire, calling its move on trifurcation as an attempt to put off the polls, as the ruling party was unsure of its victory.

A total of 1,121 candidates are in the fray. One candidate from BJP has already been elected unopposed.

In the election campaign, while Union Ministers like Venkaiah Naidu, Sadananda Gowda, Ananth Kumar, and a gamut of leaders from the state unit, including former Chief Minister Yeddyurappa had campaigned for the BJP, Congress had Siddaramaiah himself with his cabinet campaigning for party candidates. Congress had also roped in state in-charge Digvijay Singh and party’s leader in Lok Sabha Mallikarjurna Kharge.