EC: Maharashtra, Haryana State Elections on October 21 and Results on October 24


The Election Commission (EC) chief election commissioner Sunil Arora announced on Saturday the election dates for the Maharashtra and Haryana state assembly polls scheduled on October 21 and the election results to be declared on October 24.

While, Maharashtra’s assembly ends on November 9, Haryana’s assembly term ends on November 2.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led Maharashtra state in coalition with Shiv Sena will contest for majority in the 288-seat assembly, whereas the BJP in Haryana will fight for majority in the 90-seat state assembly.

Arora said, the poll expense on each candidate is fixed at 28 lakhs.

The chief election commissioner also announced by-polls in 64 constituencies to be held on October 21 across Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puduchery, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh.

The poll results in these 64 constituencies will also be announced on October 24, as said by the EC chief Sunil Arora.


19 − nine =