New Goa CM Pramod Sawant Passes the Floor Test with Majority


Newly crowned Goa CM Pramod Sawant passed the litmus test of majority in the Goa assembly on Wednesday.

Sawant who became the Goa CM after the untimely demise of ex-CM Manohar Parrikar on the evening of March 17, had the support of 20 lawmakers in the 36-seat Goa assembly.

With this win, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) now has 12 seats with its allies Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and Goa Forward Party (GFP) supporting with 3 seats each.

Additional 3 independent seats, too, voted for the newly-inducted Goa CM.

The ailing BJP leader Pandurang Madkaikar, too, voted for Sawant in the presence and support of acting Goa Assembly Speaker and BJP MLA Michael Lobo.

The 40 member house which reduced to 36 after the resignation of two Congress members and demise of other two legislators now capacitates 14 Congress MLAs and one NCP legislator.




2 + four =