Supreme Court Orders to Protect Kashmiris in 11 States


The Supreme Court on Friday issued notices as per a complaint filed against the harassment of Kashmiris in the country post the Pulwama attacks.

The top court bench led by CJI Ranjan Gogoi ordered thus: “the chief secretaries, the DGPs and the Delhi Police Commissioner are directed to take prompt and necessary action to prevent incidents of threat, assault, social boycott etc against Kashmiris and minorities.”

The states that have been issued notices are Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Meghalaya, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Delhi and NCR (National Capital Region).

As per a petition filed by Tareeq Adeeb, the PIL states, “There is a sudden rise in the incidents of crimes against Muslims and Kashmiris after the Pulwama terrorist attack on February 14 in which over 40 soldiers were killed. Immediately after the attack, mobs and vigilante groups engaged in vitriolic hate speech and began attacking, and threatening Muslims and Kashmiris throughout the country.”

Reports have come of arrests of Kashmiri students and suspension from educational institutions. Also, incidents of ‘Vande Mataram’ recitation by Kashmiris have been forced at Yavatmal in Maharashtra.

The filed petition pointed at Meghalaya Governor Tathtagata Roy supporting to boycott Kashmiris in the region.

The apex court has ordered Home ministry to distribute contact details of police officers appointed as nodal officers to approach the needy at this time of crisis.



3 × five =