Navjot Singh Sidhu to be Nominated to Rajya Sabha


New Delhi : Cricketer-turned politician and previous Amritsar MP Navjot Singh Sidhu is among the six individuals to be designated to the Rajya Sabha as the administration has chosen to fill six of the seven seats in the assigned part catagory with individuals close to ruling NDA.

While the seventh applicant is not yet chose, the six assignments are Sidhu, BJP pioneer Subramanian Swamy, previous columnist and BJP ideologue Swapan Dasgupta, Malayalam performing artist and star campaigner for BJP Suresh Gopi, financial specialist and previous individual from National Advisory Council Narendra Jadhav and boxer Mary Kom, sources in the administration and BJP affirmed.

As per sources, Sidhu was offered the seat after the BJP authority dreaded he may join the Aam Aadmi Party as their CM candidate in Punjab. Sidhu, a two-time Lok Sabha part from Amritsar, hosted cleared a path for party pioneer Arun Jaitley amid the 2014 LS polls.