Congress Party Declares Its List of Candidates for First and Second Phase Elections


After the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha became the first party to reveal its candidates name on March 18, just hours after the announcement of the first phase election notification by the Election Commission of India (ECI), the Congress party, too, followed in same vein and revealed its nominated candidates list after the roll out of the second phase election notification on Tuesday.

The BJD had already announced its candidates list for 9 Lok Sabha seats and 54 assembly constituencies. Meanwhile, the Congress for the first time in Odisha has announced 6 out of 21 Lok Sabha candidates and for the 147 assembly constituencies, the grand old party has declared candidates for 36 of them.

The following list of candidates as released by the Congress party:

Bargarh Parliamentary Constituency

Nipan Das will contest from Bargarh, Satya Bhushan Sahu from Padampur, Nihar Mahananda from Attabira.

The MP candidate from Bargarh is Pradeep Kumar Devta.

Sundargarh Parliamentary constituency

Rohit Joseph Tirkey to contest from Biramitrapur and Dr. C S Ranjan from Rajgangpur.

George Tirkey is the MP candidate for Sundargarh.

Bolangir Parliamentary Constituency

Binod Kumar Patra from Biramaharajpur and leader of the Congress party Narasingha Mishra will contest from Bolangir.

Kandhmala Parliamentary Constituency

Kishore Chandra Kanhar from Phulbani, Siman Mallick from Baliguda, Prashant Sahoo from Kantamal, Prasant Kumar Nayak from Daspalla, Sanjay Kumar Tripathy from Bhanjanagar.

The nominated MP candidate for Kandhmal is Manoj Kumar Acharya.

Ganjam Parliamentary Constituency

Manoj Kumar Jena from Aska, Hari Charan Swain from Polasara, Bijay Kumar Sahoo from Kabisuryanagar, Ramesh Chandra Jena from Sanakhemundi, Ram Krishna Panda will contest from the Odisha CM’s pet constituency from Hinjili.

Berhampur Parliamentary Constituency

Lingaraj Choudhury from Berhampur, S.Dharmaraj Reddy from Gopalpur, Bismaya Mahapatra from Digapahandi, Subhash Chandra Rout from Chikiti, Dasarathi Gomango from Mohana.

The MP Congress candidate for Berhampur is V.Chandrasekhar Naidu.

Kalahandi Parliamentary Constituency

Ghasiram Majhi from Nuapada, Adhiraj Panigrahi from Khariar, Shibaji Majhi will contest from Lanjigarh and Digambar Duria from Dharmagarh.

Bhakta Charan Dash earned the MP ticket for Kalahandi.

Nabarangpur Parliamentary Constituency

Sadan Nayak from Nabarangpur, Udham Majhi from Jharigam, Bhujbal Majhi from Dabugaon and Laxmipriya Nayak from Chitrakonda.

Pradeep Majhi is the MP candidate for Nabarangpur.

Koraput Parliamentary Constituency

Krushna Chandra Kuldeep from Koraput, Neelmadhab Hikoka from Bissam Cuttack, Purushottam Gomango from Gunupur, Tara Prasad Bahinipati from Jeypore, Ram Chandra Kadam from Pottangi and Smt. Mala Madhi from Malkangiri.



15 + 20 =