Election Commission Declares First Phase Elections Notification in Odisha


The Election Commission of India (ECI) rolls out notification for first phase elections to be held on April 11 in Odisha on Monday.

The first phase elections for Lok Sabha will be held in 4 districts on April 11, which include Koraput, Nabarangpur, Kalahandi and Bramhapur whereas 28 assembly constituencies from the state will hold elections on the same day.

Candidates to contest for the elections will have to enrol their names by March 25 starting from March 18. The list of candidates for the polls will be scrutinised on March 26.

The poll candidates can withdraw their names on the last date – on March 28.

22 Assembly constituencies out of the total 28 for the first polls on April 11 have been fixed to a rearranged polling time. The polling time in these constituencies will be from 7 AM in the morning to 4 PM in the afternoon.

The rearranged polling time assembly constituencies are – Mohana, Gunpur, Bissam Cuttack, Rayagada, Laxmipur, Koraput, Patangi, Umerkote, Jharigam, Dabugam, Kotpad, Malkangiri, Chitrakonda, Kalahandi, Nuapada, Khariar, Lanjigarh, Junagarh, Dharmagarh, Bhawanipatna and Narla.

These constituencies have been fixed with a reduced time because of active Maoist activities in the area.

While in Nabarangpur, Chhatrapur, Gopalpur, Bramhapur, Digapahandi and Tikiti assembly constituencies will hold the poll timing from 7 AM to 6 PM.

However, it is speculated that the parties may announce their candiadates within a day or two.

Across India, a total of 91 Lok Sabha seats have been announced for the first phase elections on April 11.




fifteen + 19 =