Western Vrs. Coastal: BJD’s Western Odisha MPs Demand Parliamentary Posts


Bhubaneswar: The BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will soon take steps to assuage the hurt feelings of the eight MPs from Western Odisha none of whom finds a place in any Parliamentary post.

Incidentally, all the Parliamentary posts are being held by MPs from coastal Odisha and the issue was raised by Bolangir MP Kalikesh Singh Deo during the meeting of the party MPs at Naveen Niwas yesterday.


While BJD’s Leader of the House is Bhartuhari Mahatab (MP, Cuttack), Chief Whip  is Tathagat Satpathy (MP, Dhenkanal) and Standing Committee Chairman is Pinaki Mishra (MP, Puri).


Likewise, Bhartuhari is the member of PAC and Rabindra Jena (MP, Balasore) is the Member of the Committee on PSU.


Nawarangpur MP Balabhadra Majhi has been nominated to the Committee on SC & ST.


Kalikesh reportedly stressed that such an arrangement sends a very wrong message to the people of the Western Odisha and urged BJD chief to consider some from eight MPs from backward KBK districts and Western Odisha to hold party’s parliamentary posts.

Naveen reportedly has agreed to consider the demand raised by the Western Odisha MPs. The meeting was  attended by 21 of the BJD’s 28 MPs in both the Houses of the Parliament.


five × two =