India Equalizes with New Zealand at 1-1 in Second T20; Rohit Sharma Becomes Highest Run-Getter in T20Is


The second T20 International between India and New Zealand at the odd angularly shaped Eden Park in Auckland resulted in India’s victory chase in 18.5 overs.

Team New Zealand were restricted by the Indian bowlers to 158 for 8 in their 20 overs.

Krunal Pandya rampaged through the top order of the New Zealand batting with 3 for 28 runs. Though, the wicket of Daryl Mitchell was a controversial leg before wicket (lbw), even after the batsman took a review. The drama unfolded on the last ball of the powerplay over when Mitchell stood his ground of having an inside edge.

The hotspot, too detected it but the third umpire flashed ‘OUT’ on the big screen. Later, Colin de Grandhomme blasted a half century but the Indian bowlers came to the party restricting the host team to an achievable target.

Ross Taylor, too, contributed a decent 42.

The Indian team opening pair gave a rock solid start with Rohit Sharma contributing a half century re-writing the highest run-getter list in T20 Internationals.

Sharma toppled the rested New Zealand opener Martin Guptill in the process. Sharma also created another record of the most half centuries (20) in T20 Internationals bettering the rested Indian captain Virat Kohli (19).

New Zealand fast bowlers were extracting raw pace and Sharma couldn’t continue further and fell to Ish Sodhi.

Rishabh Pant (40 not out) along with wicket keeper M S Dhoni (20 not out) overcame the target with a boundary in the penultimate ball of the penultimate over scoring 162 for 3.

With this win in Auckland, captain Rohit Sharma attained a rare feat and was clubbed along with Michael Clarke (Aus), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pak) (12) of most wins as captain after 14 T20 Internationals.

Krunal Pandya for his outstanding bowling was declared ‘Man of the Match’.

With both the sides on the same page, Rohit Sharma at the presentation ceremony said, “It’s going to be a cracker of a game in the 3rd T20I.”

The third T20I will be played at Hamilton on February 10.




five × 5 =