India Scores Second Series ODI Victory versus New Zealand Winning the Third ODI


After a historic show by the Virat Kohli led team in Australia, the Indian juggernaut have demolished New Zealand in the ongoing 5-match ODI series in their own backyard on Monday.

Team India clinched their second series victory at Bay Oval in Muanganui by winning the 3rd One Day International (ODI) by 7 wickets.

Team India were set to chase 244 for victory thanks to some impressive bowling by Indian bowlers. The Indian openers, Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma started on a positive note. But Dhawan making a positive start fell to pacer Trent Boult on 27. Then, the Indian captain Virat Kohli along with Rohit Sharma took centre stage and steadied the innings with the target easily achievable.

The Kohli-Sharma pair scored almost at every ball with consistent ones and twos with occasional boundaries. Finally, the stand was broken by spinner Mitchell Santner when Sharma was stumped while going down for the big hit to a flighted ball. Sharma scored 62.

Two overs later, Kohli (60) fell to Boult while trying to finish the innings early with Ambati Rayudu at the other end.

Team India didn’t lose any more wickets and their win came with a Doug Bracewell wide bouncer high enough of Rayudu’s head. Team India won in 43 overs with wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik unbeaten on 38 and Rayudu on 40 not out.

Earlier in the New Zealand innings, Bhuvaneswar Kumar and Mohammad Shami gave early breakthroughs on a flat deck at the Bay Oval. Colin Munro and Martin Guptill fell to poor shots by some tight bowling line up.

The Kiwi captain Kane Williamson frustrating to free up on his shots was caught by a Hardik Pandya diving blinder at midwicket of leggie Yuzvendra Chahal.

Then, the New Zealand middle order Ross Taylor along with wicket-keeper Tom Latham stitched a fluent partnership with a score of 300 seeming possible before Latham after scoring his half century was swept away by a flighted delivery of Chahal at mid wicket by Ambati Rayudu.

With deserting partners, the onus on Ross Taylor finally took his wicket before scoring century. Taylor was out on 93 with five overs remaining. Then, Shami and Kumar cleaned up the tail with Virat Kohli chipping in with a run-out. New Zealand were all out in 49 overs.

Mohammad Shami for his 3 wickets was adjudged ‘Man of the Match’.



two + 14 =