Media, Broadcasters Crown Harmanpreet Kaur with ICC T20 Captain of the Year


A voting underwent for the ICC (International Cricket Council) annual women’s individual awards was declared on Monday.

Harmanpreet Kaur of India was titled as the ICC Captain of T20 side whereas Suzie Bates of New Zealand took the ICC Captain of the 50-over side honours. The voting panel for the event comprised of media and broadcasters.

On being declared the deserving candidate, Kaur said, “To be honest, it was really surprising for me. The last two years we did not get enough T20I matches to play and it was really tough for me to build that confidence in the team and show that self-belief that we can do well in T20Is. Credit goes to all members, the way they worked hard and show that self-belief”.

On thanking BCCI, she said, “This award means a lot to me to build my confidence, BCCI is showing confidence on me – that I can do well in the format and I am looking forward to do well in the future.”

Kaur received the honour because of India’s semifinal appearance in the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in the Caribbean in November. Kaur lead the side and scored 183 runs with a strike rate of 160.5. Harmanpreet Kaur stands third in the ICC T20 batting list.

Suzie Bates, too, was delighted and said, one day she would like to captain such a dream team.

Bates got the recognition for her outstanding efforts in ascending New Zealand to second position in ICC Women’s championship.




four × 3 =