Naveen Felicitates Indian Medal Winners, Gives Cash Awards


Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today felicitated medal winners of the Indian contingent of 22nd Asian Athletics Championships which concluded at Kalinga Stadium on Sunday. At a special function held at Swosti Premium, Naveen gave away cash awards to all the medal winners who brought credit for India.

While the CM awarded each gold medal winner with Rs 10 lakh, silver medalists were given Rs 7.5 lakh and bronze medalists Rs 5 lakh each. The awardees included G Lakshmanan, who won two gold medals in men’s 10, 000m and 5000 m events and Neeraj Chopra who clinched the gold in javelin throw with meet record.

Odisha girls Dutee Chand, Srabani Nanda , Purnima Hembram and other female athletes who won medals in different events in the mega event also received cash awards.

Former eminent athletes Anuradha Biswal, Anju Bobby George and state sports minister Chandra Sarathi Behera as well as Athletics Federation of India President Adille Sumariwalla also featured in the function.