Team India World Cup 2019 Squad; Karthik in, Pant Out


The 15-member squad for the upcoming International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2019 in England has been announced for Team India by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday.

Tamil Nadu allrounder Vijay Shankar has been considered by the Board for his additional bowling and fielding skills for the no.4 batsman list.

Chief selector MSK Prasad said, “After the Champions Trophy, we tried quite a few people (at no.4). We gave a few more chances to Rayudu. What Vijay Shankar brings in three dimensional. We are looking at him at no.4 to begin with.”

Prasad at the press conference said, “KL Rahul will be reserve opener. If need arises the team management will take a call on him playing the middle-order.”

However, Dinesh Karthik’s inclusion as a back-up wicket-keeper for MS Dhoni over Rishabh Pant, who has earned a Grade A central contract last month and is India’s Test wicket-keeper comes as a eye raiser.

The chief selector added, “Definitely a case where we debated in length. We all were in unison that either Pant or DK will come in only when Mahi is injured. In an important game wicket keeping is also important. That’s the reason we went with Dinesh Karthik.”

While, Virat kohli will lead the team, Rohit Sharma will be the vice captain and opener, Shikhar Dhawan for his impressive Champions Trophy performance in England in 2013 will be the other opener with wicket-keeper MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav fill the batting glove responsibility.

Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal and chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav fill the spin bowling department.

All rounder Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar take up the pace slot in the 15-man squad in the World Cup.

The Team India’s 15-member WC 2019 squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik,Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami.



13 − 9 =