Campaigning comes to an end for first phase polls in Odisha


Bhubaneswar: Campaigning for the 10 Lok Sabha and 70 Assembly constituencies in Odisha, where polling would be held on Thursday (April 10) ended on Tuesday evening. The candidates were seen desperately trying to woo the voters on the last day and on some places they were accompanied by their heavy weight party leaders.

BJD president and chief minister Naveen Patnaik maintained his almost one-man show for his party, as he campaigned for his party aspirants in Rourkela and Ganjam districts on Tuesday.

Earlier, the central leaders of major national parties, who were seen in action during the first phase campaigning in Odisha included Congress president Sonia Gandhi, AICC vice president Rahul Gandhi, top BJP leaders like Narendra Modi, Rajnath Singh, Venkaiah Naidu, Raman Singh, Arun Singh. The others, who joined the campaign trail trying to appeal votes in the state were JMM leader and Kharkhand chief minister Hemant Soren, Bollywood star Suniel Shetty, Prachi Desai, Aditya Panscholi, etc.

 The prominent leaders who are contesting the Assembly polls and whose fate would be decided by voters on April 10, include BJD president Naveen Patnaik, BJP state president K V Singhdeo, former Union minister Dilip Ray, revenue minister Surya Narayan Patro, former minister A U Singhdeo and former minister Narasingh Mishra.

The veteran leaders, who are in the fray in the first phase Lok Sabha polls are – former chief ministers duo and senior Congress leaders Giridhar Gamang and Hemananda Biswal, former Union ministers Bhakta Charan Das, Jual Oram and Chandra Sekhar Sahu.