Mixed fortunes for fence jumpers in Odisha: Hemendra, Sudam, Ramchandra, Nitesh win; Hema, Anup lose


Bhubaneswar: The counting of votes on Friday brought out mixed fortunes for fence jumpers in Odisha, who changed loyalty prior to the 2014 Lok Sabha and Assembly polls.

Among the prominent winners who joined different political parties prior to the polls and could emerge victorious included former Congress leader Hemendra Singh who joined BJD and won  Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat beating former minister and Congress candidate Harihar Karan by 39,704 votes.  

Similarly, in Bangiriposi Assembly seat, former JMM state unit president Sudam Marandi, who joined the BJD beat JMM candidate Ajen Murmu by nearly 16, 000 votes; former NCP MLA Ramchandra Hansda who joined BJD and won from Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha seat defeated Nepole Raghu Murmu of the BJP by a hefty margin of 73, 254 votes. Former Congress MLA Nitesh Gangdeb, who joined BJP also tested victory.

Similarly, Braja Kishore Pradhan, who won 2009 polls from Talcher Assembly constituency as an independent candidate, this time as a BJD candidate retained his seat. Former MP and ex MLA Hema Gamang, wife of Congress veteran Giidhar Gamang joined the BJD and contested from Laxmipur Assembly seat, but was defeated by a margin of 12, 115 votes by Congress candidate Kailash Chandra Kulesika. Similarly, former Congress MLA Anup Sai, who joined the BJD lost the Assembly polls in his bastion Brajarajnagar.