Amir named in Pak World T20 Squad, Shehzad and Gul Axed

Pakistan Cricket Team

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the squad for the ICC World twenty20 on Wednesday as pacer Mohammad Amir has been included while Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Gul have been dropped.

The same squad will also represent at the Asia Cup T20 in Bangladesh.

Elsewhere, pacer Umar gul and Sohaib Maqsood have also been snubbed.

The selectors have named uncapped left-arm seamer Rumman Raees for both the mega events. Batsmen Khurram Manzoor and Babar Azam, and all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz are the other three uncapped players who will represent their country in the tournaments.

Speaking over the selection, Pak selector Haroon Rasheed said, “While picking the squad, the team management and skipper were consulted by the selectors, and all concerned gave their consent in this regard.”

Adding to it, he further said, “The T20 team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions during Asia cup and World T20 and the recent performances of some players in domestic and A Team tours. The team is a fine blend of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well in both tournaments.”

Veteran all-rounder Shahid Afridi will lead the team. The 2009 T20 world champions will start their campaign against a yet-to-be-decided qualifier in Kolkata on March 16.

Pakistan squad: Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Khurram Manzoor, Rumman Raees