Australia announces Squad for ODIs against India, Youngsters focused


Cricket Australia has announced the 13-man squad for the first three ODIs of 5-match ODI series against India as the selectors have focused on youngsters by giving pacemen Joel Paris and Scott Boland a chance for international debut.

Steve Smith will lead the side while wicket-keeper Matthew Wade has been called back to the side.

Big names such as Shane Watson, Mitchell Starc, James Pattinson and few others were left out.

Shaun Marsh, Aaron Finch and George Bailey are called up to the side for the ODIs. Meanwhile, Pacer Kane Richardson has also been included in the squad who already has eight appearances in ODIs.

Elsewhere, no specialist sinner has been added to the squad for the games in Perth, Brisbane and Melbourne.

The five-game series has been scheduled to play on January 12 at the WACA in Perth.

Talking over the squad, Selection Chairman Rod Marsh has said, “Scott has continued to impress the selection panel, having bowled very well for Victoria this year,” adding that “He certainly deserves this chance at the top level.”

Adding to it, he also said, “Joel is an exciting young left-arm bowler who swings the ball well and has bowled beautifully in the Big Bash League for the Perth Scorchers. He has had very good figures in short-form cricket and we really want him to make the most of this opportunity.”


Speaking over Richardson’s return, Marsh said  “Kane has had a taste of cricket at the international level and although that has been interrupted on occasions through injury we think he is ready to perform consistently for Australia.”

All-rounder James Faulkner returns to the squad after missing the recent series against England for disciplinary reasons while test all-rounder Shaun Marsh has also been recalled.

Australia squad:

Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, George Bailey, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Joel Paris, Matthew Wade