Bhagirathi falls in party-line, withdraws nomination


Bhubaneswar: Denied a party ticket, sitting BJD MLA from Anandpur Bhagirathi Sethi filed nomination as an Independent candidate. But on Saturday he chose to fall in line with party directives and withdrew his nomination, sources confirmed.

Sethi, who defeated incumbent PCC president and former minister Jayadev Jena in 2009 elections with a whopping more than 23,000 votes, was denied a party ticket by BJD this time.

The BJD leadership instead pitted Mayadhar Jena against Jayadev in Anandpur MLA seat, which reportedly infuriated Sethi as he chose to contest the polls as an Independent. But his withdrawing from the poll fray is likely to tilt the balance back in favour of BJD candidate Mayadhar Jena, feel poll analysts.