Naveen Picks ‘Doctor’ As New DGP, KB Singh Goes To OSTRC


Bhubaneswar: In a surprise move, the Chief minister-cum-Home Minister Naveen Patnaik today evening appointed 1986 batch IPS officer Dr. R P Sharma as the new Director General of Police(DGP) shunting out his predecessor K B Singh as the Chairman of the state-run transport organization, the OSRTC.

Doctor turned IPS officer Dr. R P Sharma is the current Director General of the state Vigilance Department.

Moreover, for the first time in the history of the police establishment a DG-cadre IPS officer has been appointed as the head of the Prisons department, considered to be an insignificant post.

The current Special DG of the Crime Branch Dr. Bijay Kumar Sharma will replace Arun Ray as the head of the Prisons department. Arun Ray has been appointed as ADG, Police Headquarters.

If hush-hush words in the power corridor are to be believed, it is said that Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was not-so-happy with K B Singh for the latter’s close proximity with several top brass of the BJP including the Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

However, the removal of Dr. Bijay Kumar Sharma, considered to be one of the blue-eyed boys of the CM, from the post of Special DG of the Crime Branch was an element of grand surprise for many.

For, Dr B K Sharma who also belongs to the 1986 batch like the newly appointed DGP Dr. R P Sharma, in the past not once but twice, has remained in-charge of the topmost post whenever the DGP have gone on leave though another IPS officer Binoy Kumar Behera, the current DG of Home Guards and Fire Services is senior to him.

Talking to the media after his appointment as the new DGP, Dr. R P Sharma said,“I am thankful to the government that it has reposed confidence and faith in me by giving me a very challenging assignment. Be it maintenance of law and order, investigation and prevention of crime, I shall do my best to provide better policing to the people of Odisha.”

However, both K B Singh and Dr. B K Sharma avoided the media.


sixteen + 17 =