CM Naveen Patnaik to Contest from Two Assembly Constituencies: Hinjili and Bijepur


Amid the growing popular demand from political quarters, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik for the first time in his political career will contest from Bijepur constituency in Bargarh along with his pet constituency Hinjili in Ganjam.

After the notification by the Election Commission of India (ECI) for the first phase election for April 11 on Monday, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) declared its array of candidates to be fielded from the different assembly constituencies.

Only 4 districts – Koraput, Nabarangpur, Kalahandi and Berhampur will contest for Lok Sabha seats.

Koraput Parliamentary Constituency

The prominent candidates to be fielded from the Koraput  constituency: Lal Bihari Himirika from Rayagada constituency, Raghuram Padal from Koraput constituency, Rabinarayan Nanda from Jeypore among others.

While, the Member of Parliament (MP) candidate from Koraput is Smt. Kausalya Hikaka, wife of BJD leader Jinna Hikaka.

Nabarangpur Parliamentary Constituency

The candidates in the election fray in the Nabarangpur constituency are: Subash Gond from Umerkote constituency with many new faces for the Nabarangpur, Dabugam, Kotpad and Chitrakonda constituencies.

However, the MP candidate ticket for the Nabarangpur constituency went to the Cabinet Minister for ST and SC development, Minorities and Backward classes welfare Ramesh Chandra Majhi.

Kalahandi Parliamentary Constituency

The list further follows with candidates from Kalahandi constituency with Dushmanta Naik from Bhawanipatna, former Congress leader Bhupinder Singh from Narla constituency, Dibya Sankar Mishra from Junagarh, Rajendra Dholakia from his Nuapada constituency with Lambodar Nial from Khariar. While, the Dharamgarh constituency will field a new candidate.

The MP ticket for Kalahandi went to the sitting MLA Pushpendra Singh Deo.

Berhampur Parliamentary Constituency

The Berhampur constituency will field former Congress leader Bikram Kumar Panda, Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy from Gopalpur, Surjya Narayan Patro from Digapahandi, Smt. Usha Devi from Chikiti, Kalyani Gajapati from the royal Gajapati family will contest from Paralekhmundi among others.

Meanwhile, former Congress member Chandra Sekhar Sahu is the nominated MP candidate for the Berhampur constituency.

Ganjam Parliamentary Constituency

At the Odisha CM’s home constituency (Hinjili) in Ganjam, Smt. Manjula Swain wife of recently deceased BJD MP Ladu Kishore Swain will contest from Aska constituency, Purna Chandra Swain from Surada, Nandini Devi from Sanakhemundi, MLA Srikanta Sahu from Polasara, Smt. Latika Pradhan from Kabisuryanagar among others.

Smt. Pramila Bisoi (Satsang SHG of Nalabanta) is the MP candidate from Ganjam district.

Kandhmala Parliamentary Constituency

While from Kandhmala, Saluga Pradhan will contest from G. Udaygiri, former state finance minister Pradeep Kumar Amat from Boudh, Mahidhar Rana from Kantamal, Bikram Keshari Arukha from Bhanjanagar constituency.

Member of the Rajya Sabha Achyuta Samanta has been pitchforked into direct election this time. Cashing on his popularity for his exemplary educational contribution through Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences (KISS), Samanta has entered into the election fray as an MP candidate from Kandhamal.

Bolangir Parliamentary Constituency

From Bolangir, Tukuni Sahu will contest from Titlagarh, Niranjan Pujari from Sonepur, Padmanabha Behera from Biramaharajpur constituency.

The MP candidate for Bolangir is the current MP Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo.

Bargarh Parliamentary Constituency

The BJD Bargarh parliamentary constituency has fielded Debesh Acharya from Bargarh, former textile minister Snehangini Chhuria from Attabira, Susanta Singh from Bhatli, Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha from Padampur, former Congress leader Naba Kishore Das from Jharsuguda with CM Naveen Patnaik himself from Bijepur.

Rajya Sabha member Prasanna Acharya is named as the MP candidate from Bargarh.

Sundargarh Parliamentary Constituency

The Sundargarh constituency names Jogesh Kumar Singh as its candidate, Mangala Kishan from Rajgangpur, Sarada Prasad Nayak from Rourkela, Subrat Tarai from Raghunathpali besides other new candidates.

Former Odisha CM Hemanada Biswal’s daughter Sunita Biswal is named as MP candidate from Sundargarh.




four − three =