Congress Announces Candidate List for 2 Lok Sabha seats and 9 Assembly Constituencies


After the release of 4th and final poll notification list on April 2, the Central Election Committee (CEC) of All India Congress Committee (AICC) also announced its list of candidates for Odisha late on the same day.

The Congress party announced candidates for 2 Lok Sabha seats and 9 assembly constituencies.

Manas Jena will contest for Jajpur Lok Sabha (LS) seat and veteran leader Panchanan Kanungo for Cuttack LS seat.

The 9 candidates for the respective assembly constituencies declared are: Manas Das Patnaik to contest from Balasore, Smt. Smruti Rekha Pahi from Dharmasala, Santosh Kumar Nanda from Jajpur, Trinath Behera from Hindol, Bhabani Shankar Mohapatra from Kamakhyanagar, Bobby Mohanty from Baramba, Arindam Sarkel from Paradeep, Yudhisthir Samantaray from Pipili.

Meanwhile, former Odisha CM Janaki Ballabh Patnaik’s son Pruthvi Ballabh Patnaik, who was earlier declared for Begunia constituency, but was rolled back after Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) chief Niranjan Patnaik intervened in the issue on Wednesday.

The OPCC chief cited of Pruthvi Ballav’s reluctance in contesting the elections from Begunia. Hence, Patnaik said further steps will be taken in this regard.



5 × 5 =