S M Ali Trophy: Mumbai Outplay Odisha, Register a 6-Wicket Win


Cuttack: Odisha cricket team have been totally outplayed by the visiting Mumbai side in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy tournament as the visitors registered a six-wicket win over the hosts at Barabati Stadium here on Saturday.

Mumbai have chased down a mere 92-run target in just 16 overs by loosing only four wickets.

Skipper and wicket-keeper Aditya Tare was the highest scorer with 32 runs to his name while Siddhesh Lad scored an impressive unbeaten 31-run knock.

Basant Mohanty and Deepak Behera bagged two wickets each by conceding 21 and 14 runs respectively in their four-over spells.

Previously, Odisha were invited to bat first after loosing the toss to the visitors.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The hosts struggled through out their innings and came down to 44/7 before Abhisekh Yadav and Alok Chandra Sahoo added 37 runs for the fift wicket. The hosts managed to score only 91 runs.

Yadav was the highest scorer with 33 runs to his name while Sahoo scored 19 valuable runs.Eight out of remaining nine players, had not even touched the double digit mark.

All the Mumbai bowlers introduced by skipper Tare, have picked two wickets each.